Pandipedia entry
latest breakthroughs in biochar commercialization. Tracks new plants, funding rounds, and regulations enabling large-scale biochar deployment.
Biochar commercialization breakthroughs (2024–2025) — corporate intelligence brief
Bottom line: Commercialization accelerated in 2024–2025 through visible plant expansions and pipelines (Exomad Green), fresh venture and public funding (Applied Carbon, USDA/EPA awards), stronger offtake and buyer signals (Microsoft, Supercritical, Senken), and clearer regulatory pathways (EU CRCF, ICVCM approvals). Evidence for new 2026 announcements was weak in the supplied sources, so near‑term focus remains on executing 2025–2027 build‑outs and navigating CRCF implementation[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9].
New plants and large deployments
| Project / Location | Status and scale | Date | Source type | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Exomad Green — Concepción, Bolivia | Expanded from 3 to 7 reactors by adding 4 lines; capacity rose from 25,000 t/yr biochar and 60,000 tCO2/yr to 58,000 t/yr biochar and 140,000 tCO2/yr[1]. | 2025[1] | Company announcement | Exomad Green expansion post[1] |
| Exomad Green — Riberalta, Bolivia | Capacity expansion listed on company news page; terms not fully disclosed in excerpt[7]. | 2025[7] | Company news aggregation | Exomad Green news page[7] |
| Exomad Green — Guarayos, Bolivia | Facility under development, expected to reach 320,000 tCO2/yr; portfolio target of 1 MtCO2 removed annually by 2027[2]. | 2025[2] | Company disclosure | Exomad Green portfolio update[2] |
| Carbo Culture — ARC Middenmeer (North Holland) | Company lists a 3.5M Dutch grant and facility build announcement; dates not shown in the supplied excerpt[10]. | Not stated in excerpt[10] | Company updates list | Carbo Culture resources page[10] |
| Carbo Culture — Finland pilot near Helsinki | First industrial pilot facility opening listed; excerpt lacks a publication date[10]. | Not stated in excerpt[10] | Company updates list | Carbo Culture resources page[10] |
| Standard Biocarbon — Maine, USA | No 2024/2025 new-facility announcement in supplied sources; earlier disclosures were a 2021 debt facility for first manufacturing site and 2022 equipment arrival with ~100 tons/month output estimate[11][12]. | Prior updates 2021–2022[11][12] | Company news/financing | Standard Biocarbon posts[11][12] |
Funding, offtake, and carbon-credit demand signals
| Item | What changed | Date | Source type | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied Carbon — Series A | $21.5M Series A to deploy a fleet of biochar machines across TX/OK/AR/LA[3]. | Jul 31, 2024[3] | Company press release | Applied Carbon announcement[3] |
| Applied Carbon — Microsoft offtake | Selected into Microsoft’s carbon removal portfolio and described Microsoft as an anchor buyer for biochar carbon removal[13]. | 2024 (exact day not stated)[13] | Company press release | Applied Carbon announcement[13] |
| Applied Carbon — awards | $250k AgSharks win; DOE CDR Purchase Pilot Prize semifinalist with $50k award stated by company[14][3]. | 2024 (exact days not stated)[14][3] | Company news | Applied Carbon news page and release[14][3] |
| Exomad Green — offtakes | News page lists a 500,000‑tonne biochar agreement with Supercritical, a 105,000‑tonne deal with Senken, and a large agreement with Microsoft; financial terms not fully disclosed in excerpt[7]. | 2025[7] | Company news aggregation | Exomad Green news page[7] |
| Microsoft — FY25 CDR portfolio | Record 45 Mt across 21 companies; Exomad Green is the only named biochar supplier in the supplied Microsoft FY25 article; no biochar‑specific volume disclosed[6]. | FY25[6] | Corporate sustainability article | Microsoft Source feature[6] |
| Puro.earth platform | Biochar accounted for 43% of durable CDR volumes delivered by June 11, 2025; growth supported by methodology and market infrastructure improvements[15]. | By Jun 11, 2025[15] | Trade press report | Carbon Herald on Puro.earth[15] |
| ICVCM approvals | Biochar methodologies from CAR (US/Canada), Isometric, and Verra VM0044 approved for CCP label; Carbon Herald also reports biochar deliveries dominated VCM in 2025[9]. | 2025[9] | Standards/market integrity coverage | Carbon Herald on ICVCM[9] |
| USDA FPEP awards | $120M awarded to six biochar projects to expand domestic fertilizer production capacity[4]. | 2025[4] | Trade press report | Carbon Herald on USDA[4] |
| EPA grant — Tule River Tribe | $14.7M grant for a biochar project with expected carbon‑removal credit revenue, illustrating revenue stacking[5]. | 2025[5] | Trade press report | Carbon Herald on EPA grant[5] |
| BIOSORRA | $3.5M seed funding and ICROA certification for carbon removal credits, signaling tighter certification expectations[16]. | 2025[16] | Company funding coverage | Carbon Herald on BIOSORRA[16] |
| 2026 disclosures — supplied sources | No 2026 funding rounds, project financings, purchases, or offtakes located in the supplied sources; an SEC filing references a planned facility that would produce biochar among other outputs but not a 2026 biochar deal[17]. | 2026[17] | SEC filing | SEC S‑4 (XCF Global) excerpt[17] |
Regulatory and standards developments enabling scale
- EU CRCF moved from legislation to implementation: Regulation (EU) 2024/3012 adopted in Nov 2024 with an implementation regulation laying out rules for schemes, bodies, audits, documentation, consultations, and anti‑fraud; delegated acts for Biochar Carbon Removal expected in the following year per coverage[8].
- ICVCM approved three biochar methodologies for its CCP label: CAR U.S./Canada Biochar, Isometric Biochar Production and Storage, and Verra VM0044, lifting market integrity signals for biochar credits[9].
- Puro.earth reported biochar at 43% of durable CDR delivered on its platform by June 11, 2025, alongside improvements in methodologies, pricing transparency, liquidity, intermediaries, and verification[15].
- Biochar Europe states the CRCF biochar methodology is advancing and presses for clear storage attestation, group‑of‑operators liability, traceability, and broader eligible durable product matrices; it also frames scenarios that include possible EU ETS integration with stronger policy support[18][19].
- Biochar Europe argues current EU funding skews to enabling infrastructure and calls for dedicated windows for permanent CDR to accelerate deployment[18].
Source provenance, dates, and what is not yet evidenced
- Primary company disclosures: Exomad Green plant expansion and portfolio targets; Applied Carbon financing and Microsoft buyer note; Carbo Culture facility pipeline and grant listings; Microsoft FY25 supplier naming[1][2][3][13][10][6].
- Secondary trade press: Carbon Herald coverage of EU CRCF implementation, Puro.earth delivery mix, ICVCM approvals, USDA/EPA awards, BIOSORRA funding/certification[8][15][9][4][5][16].
- Gaps and uncertainties: Carbo Culture items are undated in the supplied excerpt; treat as indicative until confirmed with date‑stamped posts[10]. Microsoft’s FY25 portfolio does not disclose a biochar‑specific volume; only Exomad Green is named in the supplied FY25 article[6].
- Scoped negative findings: In the supplied sources, we did not locate 2026 biochar funding or offtake announcements; the SEC S‑4 reference relates to a planned multi‑output facility and not a 2026 biochar deal[17].
- Confidence: High for Exomad Green’s 2025 Concepción expansion numbers and Applied Carbon’s financing since they come from primary releases[1][3].
- Confidence: Medium for Exomad portfolio targets and offtake listings pending third‑party corroboration and fuller terms[2][7].
- Confidence: Medium‑high for regulatory and market‑integrity signals given multiple independent reports and institutional provenance (EU, ICVCM, Puro.earth) as covered by trade press[8][9][15].
Practical next steps for tracking large‑scale deployment
- Plant pipeline verification: Monitor Exomad Green’s Guarayos commissioning timeline and any EPC or equipment supplier disclosures; cross‑check third‑party registry deliveries versus target of 1 MtCO2/yr by 2027[2].
- Buyer and offtake clarity: Track Microsoft FY26 procurement updates and registry postings to quantify biochar volumes by supplier; watch for disclosure of Exomad’s Supercritical and Senken contract scheduling or deliveries[6][7].
- Policy triggers: Follow EU CRCF delegated acts for Biochar Carbon Removal and any movement toward EU ETS pathways mentioned by Biochar Europe; map scheme and auditor approvals that unlock bankable projects[8][19][18].
- Market infrastructure: Continue monitoring Puro.earth delivery mix and price transparency for biochar; cross‑reference with ICVCM CCP‑labeled methodologies for buyer acceptance signals[15][9].
- Public funding: Track USDA FPEP follow‑on awards and EPA grants as catalysts for U.S. supply expansion; reconcile grantees with commissioning dates and expected credit issuance[4][5].
- Fill evidence gaps: Obtain date‑stamped Carbo Culture announcements for ARC Middenmeer, the Finland pilot timeline, and any bankable offtakes; validate capacity nameplate and feedstock sourcing[10].
Save this answer
Create your account to keep this answer and continue from it later.
Sorry, Pandi could not find an answer.
Let's look at alternatives:
- Modify the query.
- Start a new thread.
- Remove sources (if manually added).